ENTERTAINMENT/CELEBRITIES · FASHION

CELEBRITY STYLE ICON OF THE WEEK: JOY KENDI… FIND OUT WHAT SHE’S TELLING US ABOUT HERSELF AND HER PERSONAL STYLE!

Hey guys! Sorry for the long wait but its finally here. The beautiful and stylish Joy Kendi from Kenya granted us this interview for this week’s “Celebrity style icon”, so now I don’t have to tell you everything but you get to hear it from her own mouth (or words lol) how cool is that?! Enjoy!

Me: Tell us a little about yourself, who is Joy Kendi?
Joy: My name is Joy Kendi. I am from kenya and i am an actress (stared in Changing Times and i am now staring on PREM a kenyan drama) and fashion blogger (www.ourstylekenya.com.). I graduated from United States International University with a bachelors in Psychology and a minor in philosophy.
Me: How did your love for fashion begin?
Joy: My love for fashion started when I was a kid. I’ve always loved fashion, I used to want to be a fashion designer then moved on to styling and now I am a blogger. 
Me: Most of us know you from changing times and you were unarguably the best dressed, how much of you was involved in the styling?
Joy: All of me. I styled myself for every episode. I am very picky about what I wear.

Me: What are your five fashion must haves?
Joy: What are your 5 fashion must haves?
High waist everything (skirts, shorts, trousers etc)
Crop tops
single sole strapped heels and ankle strapped pumps
Leather skirt
booties
Me:. Like We say in Nigeria, “you are young and getting it” so you must be very busy, do you still have time for fashion and Shopping like you did in the past or do you have someone to do that for you?
Joy: I always make time for fashion. I mean what is life if you can’t make time for your simple pleasures.
Me: Picture this: you were invited for an event but you got to see the invitation late and you have just 3 hours to get ready, what would be your go-to-outfit in your closet?
Joy: First I would panic ALOT. After an hour of panicking I would go for either my high neck long sleeved red maxi dress with a thigh high slit or my patent leather pencil skirt with a crop top and killer heels.
Me:We see you single-handedly transform outfits on your blog, do you intend adding fashion designer to your resumé?
Joy: Not at the moment but never say never :), you never know what I may decide to do tomorrow.

Me: You have been in the fashion world for some time now so we want to know what/who inspires your style? And who your favourite African and International designers are
Joy: What inspires my style: I always go for clothes that would look good on my body type. I mean I love looking at what’s in trend or what’s hot but if it wouldn’t look good on me i wouldn’t wear it. so i always let my body and my shape inspire what i will wear
Who inspires my style: I have to pick some celebrities, Rihanna, Rita ora, Solange Knowles, 
My favourite fashion designers: D&G, zac posen, Pucci, prada, Vivienne Westwood
Me: Share with us your top 3 fashion tips.
Joy: Eye liner is important but too much can make you look old and no one wants that 🙂
Confidence is also very important. you might be wearing something that people may not like but if you rock it with confidence then you are styling.
And last a pair of shoes can either make or break your outfit so choose well.
Me:Finally, We follow you on your blog and facebook page but we would like to see more of you, are you on any other social media platform?
No, I am usually very lazy when it comes to social networks but I am planning on starting an Instagram account.

I learnt a lot from this interview, hope y’all did too!
In our next post we’ll be dealing with major “Gossip Girl” Fashion, So for all “Gossip Girl” freaks like myself of course. Watch out!
Follow us on twitter: @Awajis_Blog

Leave a comment